Skip to content

Policy Oriented Entities

Black Sea Commission (BSC)

The Commission on the Protection of the Black Sea Against Pollution (the Black Sea Commission or BSC) is an inter-governmental body established in the framework of the Convention on the Protection of the Black Sea Against Pollution (Bucharest Convention), its Protocols and the Strategic Action Plan for the Environmental Protection and Rehabilitation of the Black Sea (2009). The Black Sea Commission comprises one representative of each of the Contracting Parties (Bulgaria, Georgia, Romania, Russian Federation, Turkey and Ukraine) to the Convention on the Protection of the Black Sea Against Pollution.

BSEC (Black Sea Economic Cooperation)

Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC Organization) is a full-fledged intergovernmental, regional economic organization that includes 12 Member States from the wider Black Sea region (Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine). After completing its 26th year of existence (founded in 1992) BSEC is today the oldest, most representative, most inclusive and institutionally mature intergovernmental Organization in the wider Black sea area, which contributes to the promotion of regional cooperation and economic development. BSEC has more than 25 areas of cooperation, which are of importance to its Member States, among them environmental protection, agriculture, culture, tourism, science and technology, education, energy, SMEs, emergency assistance, transport and etc.

BSAM (The Black Sea Assistance Mechanism)

The Black Sea Assistance Mechanism (BSAM) for the implementation of the Common Maritime Agenda (CMA) provides guidance and support to governments, private investors, trade and industrial associations, research institutions and universities and to the general public regarding opportunities to engage in Blue Economy maritime activities in the Black Sea region. The CMA sets three major goals for the Black Sea: 1) Healthy marine and coastal ecosystems 2) A competitive, innovative, and sustainable Blue Economy 3) Fostering Investment The implementation of the Common Maritime Agenda (CMA) will be supported at a regional level by the National Hubs from the seven (7) Black Sea countries in order to involve local stakeholders.

CPMR (Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions)

The Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions brings together more than 150 Regions from 24 States from the European Union and beyond. The CPMR campaigns in favour of a more balanced development of the European territory. It operates both as a think tank and as a lobby for Regions. Through its extensive network of contacts within the EU institutions and national governments the CPMR has been targeting its action towards ensuring that the needs and interests of its Member Regions are taken into account in policies with a high territorial impact.

EMB (European Marine Board)

The (EMB) is the leading European think tank in marine science policy. It provides a platform to advance marine research and to bridge the gap between science and policy. The EMB is a unique strategic pan-European Forum for seas and ocean research and technology. It provides a strategic forum to develop marine research foresight, initiate state-of-the-art analyses and translate these into clear policy recommendations to European institutions as well as national governments. EMB engages in several foresight activities by establishing working groups; and producing strategic foresight papers, organising forums and conferences and participating in EU projects.

GFCM (General Fisheries Commission of the Mediterranean)

GFCM is a regional fisheries management organization to ensure the conservation and the sustainable use, of living marine resources at the biological, social, economic and environmental level, as well as the sustainable development of aquaculture in the Mediterranean and in the Black Sea. The Commission has the authority to adopt binding recommendations for fisheries conservation and management in its area of application and plays a critical role in fisheries governance in the region.

JPI Oceans (The Joint Programming Initiative Healthy and Productive Seas and Oceans)

JPI Oceans is an intergovernmental platform, open to all EU Member States and Associated Countries who invest in marine and maritime research. JPI-Oceans supports co-fund mechanisms through national funding initiatives on mutually agreed challenges. By joining forces, JPI Oceans focuses on long-term collaboration between EU Member States, Associated Countries and international partners. The platform provides its member countries with a shared voice, strategic agenda and action plan to address complex ocean-related societal challenges that cannot be solved at national level. JPI Oceans adds to the value of national research and innovation investments by aligning national priorities and implementing joint actions.

ICBSS (International Centre for Black Sea Studies)

ICBSS is a non-profit organisation which functions as an independent research and training institution focusing on the wider Black Sea region. It is a related body of the Organisation of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC) and serves as its acknowledged think-tank. Through its activities, the ICBSS promotes multilateral cooperation among the BSEC member states, the European Union and other international organisations. The Centre elaborates and publishes research papers and studies, organises a variety of scientific events, and manages research projects that seek to foster a comprehensive and cohesive approach towards important issues of the Black Sea region, with explicit measurable (qualitatively and quantitatively) results and gains at both the academic and political level.

Back to top